What is the difference between Save and Publish on the File Menu?
This will save any changes that you have made to your applet since the last time you saved or published it.
Saving will not affect the version of the applet currently available for download (i.e. the Published version).
This will save your changes and create a new version of the applet for download.
To save changes without creating a new downloadable version, use Save instead.